About This Artist

Miguel Gutierrez is a choreographer, composer, performer, singer, writer, educator and advocate who has lived in New York for over twenty years. He is fascinated by the time-based nature of performance and how it creates an ideal frame for phenomenological questions around presence, meaning-making and the complexity of interiority. His work proposes an immersive state, where attention itself becomes a material that can be manipulated, stretched, strained, or dived into. His current work looks at how he negotiates his queer Latinx identity within the traditions of the white avant-garde. He believes in an approach to artmaking that is fierce, fragile, empathetic, political, and irreverent.

 

About This Project

Age & Beauty Part 1: Mid-Career Artist/Suicide Note or &:-/ is the first in a series of pieces that place a queer lens on the representation of the dancer, the physical and emotional labor of performance, and mid-life anxieties around relevance, sustainability, and artistic burnout.

Upcoming Events

Secure Our Stage

Help CounterPulse Buy Our Building
We have $1 million left to raise to meet our $7 million goal this year! Donate Now!

FRE!HEIT

David Brandstätter & Michelle Jacques
Friday & Saturday, October 7 & 8 at 8PM PT and Sunday, October 9 at 2PM PT

TVOD All Nighter

Hiro Kone, Muqata’a, Topazu, Sonic Provisions
Friday, October 7th 11:59PM - Saturday, October 8th 6:00AM PT

Quake

Kat Gorospe Cole
Performances Thursday - Friday, October 13-14 at 8PM PT & Workshops Saturday October 15 at 2:30PM and 4:30PM PT

Archived Events

Here Lies the Truth

Li Chiao-Ping Dance
Thursday - Saturday, September 29-October 1 at 8PM PT

Back (all I wanna do is dance and fuck and swim with you)

Keith Hennessy and Circo Zero
Wednesday September 14, Thursday September 15, and Monday September 19th at 8PM PT & Sunday September 18 and Saturday September 24 at 4PM PT

SF Arts Board Match

featuring CounterPulse, Gray Area, Bay Area Video Coalition, and more!
Tuesday, September 13 at 6PM PT

death pod/kid subjunctive

Nol Simonse and Jim Cave; Christy Funsch
Thursday - Saturday, September 8-10 at 7:30PM PT

Blog Roll