About This Artist

Kim Ip/Krimm is a choreographer and performer who uses her choreography to undermine the stereotypes and expectations of the performing womxns’ body as it relates to American Pop Culture. Her work critiques the mediated gaze of womxns’ bodies in media through physically exhausting dance and club culture aesthetic. She desires to create alternate experiences on stage that unhinge the viewer from what is comfortable by co-opting familiar imagery and utilizing subtle distortion. Kim Ip/Krimm has received residencies from Shawl-Anderson Dance Center, SafeHouse Arts, and now CounterPulse.

 

Support Kim Ip’s GoFundMe campaign >>

 

About this Project

ceremonious present is the story of two womxns’ sexual awakening through investigating Asian womxn ancestry in America and more specifically the Bay Area. The work excavates cultural rejections of sexuality, and unveils one person’s desire to be transposed upon two bodies.

Photos by Robbie Sweeny

Upcoming Events

Secure Our Stage

Help CounterPulse Buy Our Building
We have $1 million left to raise to meet our $7 million goal this year! Donate Now!

FRE!HEIT

David Brandstätter & Michelle Jacques
Friday & Saturday, October 7 & 8 at 8PM PT and Sunday, October 9 at 2PM PT

TVOD All Nighter

Hiro Kone, Muqata’a, Topazu, Sonic Provisions
Friday, October 7th 11:59PM - Saturday, October 8th 6:00AM PT

Quake

Kat Gorospe Cole
Performances Thursday - Friday, October 13-14 at 8PM PT & Workshops Saturday October 15 at 2:30PM and 4:30PM PT

Archived Events

Here Lies the Truth

Li Chiao-Ping Dance
Thursday - Saturday, September 29-October 1 at 8PM PT

Back (all I wanna do is dance and fuck and swim with you)

Keith Hennessy and Circo Zero
Wednesday September 14, Thursday September 15, and Monday September 19th at 8PM PT & Sunday September 18 and Saturday September 24 at 4PM PT

SF Arts Board Match

featuring CounterPulse, Gray Area, Bay Area Video Coalition, and more!
Tuesday, September 13 at 6PM PT

death pod/kid subjunctive

Nol Simonse and Jim Cave; Christy Funsch
Thursday - Saturday, September 8-10 at 7:30PM PT

Blog Roll