About This Artist

Founded in 2010, by Baindu Conté-Coomber, Jaara has evolved from a five-member dance company into a multilayer and multidisciplinary cultural arts non-profit. Based in both Boston and San Francisco, Jaara encourages the exploration of the diverse African heritages and traditions inherent of the continent, and serves as a medium to disseminate these heritages and traditions to the broader community through dance, education and outreach.

 

 

About This Project

Recovering Home explores the unique subjectivities of identity from different ethnic and racial backgrounds, whose paths have woven together on a journey to find home. Coming from the far reaches of the globalized experience, this piece explores a convergence of quests for connection, a sense of belonging and a space to integrate our stories past and present.

Upcoming Events

Secure Our Stage

Help CounterPulse Buy Our Building
We have $1 million left to raise to meet our $7 million goal this year! Donate Now!

FRE!HEIT

David Brandstätter & Michelle Jacques
Friday & Saturday, October 7 & 8 at 8PM PT and Sunday, October 9 at 2PM PT

TVOD All Nighter

Hiro Kone, Muqata’a, Topazu, Sonic Provisions
Friday, October 7th 11:59PM - Saturday, October 8th 6:00AM PT

Quake

Kat Gorospe Cole
Performances Thursday - Friday, October 13-14 at 8PM PT & Workshops Saturday October 15 at 2:30PM and 4:30PM PT

Archived Events

Here Lies the Truth

Li Chiao-Ping Dance
Thursday - Saturday, September 29-October 1 at 8PM PT

Back (all I wanna do is dance and fuck and swim with you)

Keith Hennessy and Circo Zero
Wednesday September 14, Thursday September 15, and Monday September 19th at 8PM PT & Sunday September 18 and Saturday September 24 at 4PM PT

SF Arts Board Match

featuring CounterPulse, Gray Area, Bay Area Video Coalition, and more!
Tuesday, September 13 at 6PM PT

death pod/kid subjunctive

Nol Simonse and Jim Cave; Christy Funsch
Thursday - Saturday, September 8-10 at 7:30PM PT

Blog Roll